Proverbs 2:9-11: True Learning

ONE “INSTRUCTIVE PROVERB A DAY”
TITLE: TRUE LEARNING – Bridging the World’s Longest Distance
Text: Read Proverbs 2:9-11
Date: 28 July 2010
Written by: Conrade Yap

For wisdom will enter your heart, and knowledge will be pleasant to your soul.” (Prov 2:10)

It has been said that the longest journey in the world is that pathway from the head to the heart. Considering the actual physical distance from our brain to the 4-chambered heart is a mere couple of inches, this saying is definitely talking about something beyond physical.

I remember when I was a kid that my grandparents used to tell me that ‘one day you will understand.’ I still cannot remember exactly what was said. It could be why I didn’t get to get my lollipop in the car, or why was I refused my ice-cream. I cannot remember. What I do know is that over time, as I become of age, certain things become clearer to me. For example, there are more perspectives to selecting a house to rent. Like location, transport facilities, neighbourhood safety, direction of the sunlight during the afternoon and so on. As a child, all I wanted is simply a bedroom with all my toys. Who bothers about other things.

However, through time, I learn more. This is what wisdom needs. Time. More than that, it needs an openness of heart, that only the Holy Spirit can bring about. When the heart is opened, wisdom and understanding flows in. True learning happens when the distance from the head and the heart is bridged.

***************

Thought: “The purpose of learning is growth, and our minds, unlike our bodies, can continue growing as long as we live.” (Mortimer Adler)

Time to Reflect: What Have You Learned Today?

conrade yap

Share


This “Instructive Proverb A Day” meditation is sent to you from Theology@Work, a ministry that helps apply theology in our daily lives, and seeks to inculcate, faith, hope and love in our heads, hearts and hands. If you find this meditation helpful, forward it to friends or encourage them to subscribe here. You can contact me (conrade) at yapdates@aim.com.